Click on Cover to View the Digital Edition

Regional, Monthly All-Breed Horse Magazine • Since 1993
Idaho • Montana • Nevada • Oregon • Utah • Washington • Wyoming

Physical Address:

1595 N First St

Hamilton, MT 59840

Mailing Address:

PO Box 995

Hamilton MT 59840

Toll Free: 888-747-1000

Local: 406-363-4085

   HOME         ARTICLES         CALENDAR         MARKETPLACE         EXTRA NEWS         COMPANY INFO         ADVERTISE         CONTACT US



Current Issue

Back Issues

Horse Sale Results

Past Covers

Photo Albums


Calendar of Events


Classified Ads


Advertiser Links

Stallion Profiles

Business Profiles

Event Profiles

Horse Sale Profiles

Farm & Ranch

Equine & Western


Contact Us


Green Information

Made in USA

Editorial Guidelines


Site Map


Ad Rates

Distribution area

Camera Ready Req.


Club Directory


Competition Results

Extra News Section  


Extra News Section

Health & Emergency Alerts

Horsepeople’s Forum





Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame announces 2012 inductions


Today the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame & Western Heritage Center (MCHF & WHC) announced the fifth class of inductions into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame. The inductees were chosen from candidates nominated by the public and Trustees of the MCHF & WHC that made a notable contribution to the history and culture of Montana through 1980, no matter the year of death or closure. Winners were selected by the MCHF & WHC Trustees.


2012 is the second year that the MCHF has included a “Living” category in addition to the Legacy Award category. The Class of 2012 includes at least one inductee from each of 12 districts across the state. This year, 26 inductees were selected as Legacy Award recipients and 11 inductees were selected in the “Living” category.


The 2012 inductees into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame are:  

·         District 1 (Daniels, Phillips, Roosevelt, Sheridan , & Valley Counties ): Living Award – Cliff Wolfe, Scobey. Legacy Award – Horace Dewitt Brewster, Southwest Phillips County; & Steve Marmon, Sr., Wolf Point.

·         District 2 ( Dawson , Garfield , McCone, Prairie, Richland , & Wibaux Counties ): Living Award – William James ‘Bill’ Brown, Jr., Sand Springs (nominated in Living Category but deceased 3/2/12). Legacy Award – Daniel Vincent Haughian, Terry; & Pierre Wibaux, Wibaux.

·         District 3 (Carter, Custer, Fallon, Powder River, Rosebud, & Treasure Counties ):  Living Award – C.M. Coffee, Miles City . Legacy Award – Range Riders Museum , Miles City ; & Lynne Taylor, Miles City/Shepherd.

·         District 4 ( Blaine , Choteau, Hill, & Liberty Counties ): Living Award – Don Greytak, Havre. Legacy Award – Francis Bardanouve, Harlem; & Roscoe ‘Doc’ Timmons, Hill County .

·         District 5 (Cascade, Glacier, Pondera, Teton, & Toole Counties ): Living Award – Fred Martin ‘Bud’ Connelly, Browning. Legacy Award – Elizabeth ‘Libby’ Smith Collins, Choteau; & Richard Carlisle ‘Dick’ Langley , Sun River/Great Falls.

·         District 6 (Fergus, Golden Valley , Judith Basin, Musselshell, Petroleum, & Wheatland Counties ): Legacy Award – (three-way tie) Ambrose V. ‘Kid Amby’ Cheney, Stanford; Julia Loraine Jackson, Lewistown; & Utica ’s Silver Dollar Saloon & Judith Hotel, Utica .

·         District 7 (Big Horn, Carbon, Stillwater , Sweet Grass, & Yellowstone Counties ): Living Award – Ben Steele, Billings . Legacy Award – J.K. Ralston, Billings ; (two-way tie) William ‘Bill’ Linderman, Red Lodge; & Sam ‘Sarpy Sam’ McDowell, Hardin.

·         District 8 (Broadwater, Jefferson, & Lewis and Clark Counties ): Living Award – (two-way tie) Walter Benjamin Holland, Helena ; & Stan Lynde, Helena . Legacy Award – Kleffner Ranch, East Helena; & Henry Sieben, Wolf Creek .

·         District 9 ( Gallatin , Meagher, & Park Counties ): Living Award – William P. ‘Bill’ Loney, White Sulphur Springs. Legacy Award – Peter F. Karst, Gallatin Gateway & James W. ‘Cap’ Overstreet, Gallatin and Madison Counties .

·         District 10 (Flathead, Lake, Lincoln , & Sanders Counties ): Legacy Award – Vern E. ‘Bud’ Cheff, Sr., Ronan.

·         District 11 (Mineral, Missoula , & Ravalli Counties ): Living Award – Pete Sacks, Corvallis . Legacy Award – Irvin G. Wortman, Stevensville; (two-way tie) Archie Lynn Joscelyn, Missoula ; & Norman McLean, Missoula .

·         District 12 (Deer Lodge, Beaverhead, Silver Bow, Granite, Madison , & Powell Counties ): Living Award – Johnny France, Ennis. Legacy Award – Gertrude ‘Brownie’ Smith, Melrose ; & Chief (Tin doi) Tendoy, Beaverhead River .  

Since the initial round of inductions to the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame in 2008, including this year’s inductions, 147 historical figures have been honored as inductees. Full biographies for past inductees are available on the MCHF&WHC’s website,


At the end of April, the MCHF & WHC announced the culmination of its request for proposal process and the selection of Big Timber as the future building location for the organization’s headquarters. The MCHF & WHC will utilize the highly visible Stetson Building and surrounding land off I-90 for its campus. This site will serve as one of many ways the organization works to honor Montana ’s cowboy way of life, American Indian cultures and the roots of Montana ’s Western heritage.


For more information about the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame & Western Heritage Center, or for more details on the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame inductees, please contact Christy Stensland by calling (406) 653-3800, emailing, or visiting


Back to Extra News Main Page


Back to Home Page



Rocky Mountain Rider Magazine • Montana Owned & Operated 
PO Box 995 • Hamilton, MT 59840 • 888-747-1000  •  406-363-4085 •

Site Map